Skip to Content

Select a piece

Browse by Instrumentation:

Concerto for Piano


The Concerto for Piano, commissioned by Pamela Mia Paul, continues my fascination with creating large works out of the smallest possible amount of initial musical material. In this piece, both movements are constructed from the exact same set of descending dyads, though they diverge widely in character and tempo.

Concerto for Piano motive

Movement I is a meditation on these intervals, gradually unfolding from the solo Piano opening into an ever-cascading fall of melodic motion, until we finally “land” in Ab major, at which point the music reverses direction, ascending to a euphoric climax. The music dissipates, evaporating upward into solo Piano, just as it began.

Movement II erupts boldly into a playful interweaving of syncopated gestures, with the Piano and ensemble often careening abruptly around sharp rhythmic and dynamic curves, as well as around each other. A groove eventually establishes itself, as the piece incessantly intensifies to a climactic conclusion.

I owe a debt of gratitude to Pamela Mia Paul for commissioning this work, and for her absolutely devoted and tireless support, extraordinary musicianship, and jovial attitude throughout the creation of this work.

Scored for orchestral winds and percussion, the instrumentation is suitable for both symphony orchestras and wind ensembles.

Genres:   Concerto

Share this piece

Purchase or Rent

Please consider bringing in Pamela Mia Paul as guest soloist. She is extraordinary to work with, really fun, and available for a very reasonable fee. Also, you get a big discount on the rental fee if you do.Contact us for more details.

Score for purchase:

Paper: $50Buy

PDF: $50Buy

Parts for rental:

PDF: $495Rent

Additional performance:

$100 each Rent


General Info

Year(s) composed: 2012

Duration: 16:00

Commissioned by: Pamela Mia Paul

Dedicated to: Pamela Mia Paul

Technical Info

View Instrumentation List

Flute I – II – III
Oboe I – II
Bassoon I – II (dbl. CBsn.)
Clarinet in Bb I – II

Bb Trumpet I – II – III
Horn in F I – II – III – IV
Trombone I – II – III
Tuba I

Solo Piano


Percussion I
Percussion II
Percussion III