Skip to Content

Steven Bryant

Steven Bryant’s music is chiseled in its structure and intent, fusing lyricism, dissonance, silence, technology, and humor into lean, skillfully-crafted works that enthrall listeners and performers alike. His seminal work Ecstatic Waters, for wind ensemble and electronics, has become one of the most performed works of its kind in the world, receiving over 250 performances in its first five seasons. The orchestral version was premiered by the Minnesota Orchestra to unanimousrapturous acclaim. The son of a professional trumpeter and music educator, he strongly values music education, and his creative output includes a number of works for young and developing musicians.


My music ranges from electronic experiments to works for professional symphony orchestra, from music for middle school band to virtuosic solo pieces, and combinations of all of these with live electronic media. I believe firmly in writing music not only for accomplished musicians, but also for those at the beginning of their musical lives.

Browse CatalogShop Online


2 World Premieres, Fall 2019 travel:

November 8, 2019 ComposingConcertMusicNewsTravel

Fall 2019

Lots going on this Fall!

TWO WORLD PREMIERES (both for orchestra, both conducted by my amazing wife!):
Shouting Defiance, adapted from Mvt. I of Pendulum, arranged for the Texas Region XIII Symphony Orchestra, Verena Mösenbichler-Bryant conducting

Concerto for Trombone, Joseph Alessi and the Durham Medical Orchestra, Verena Mösenbichler-Bryant conducting

10/28-11/1: MILLEDGEVILLE, GA: Georgia College residency (Radiant Joy, Ecstatic Fanfare, Dusk, and Rise for sax quartet), Cliff Towner, conductor

11/7, 11/12: GREENSBORO, NC: UNCG rehearsal of The Automatic Earth and Ecstatic Waters, Jonathan Caldwell and Kevin Geraldi, conductors

11/10: DURHAM, NC: rehearsal with Joseph Alessi and the Durham Medical Orchestra on the new symphony orchestra version of my Concerto for Trombone (premiere: Dec. 8th, Durham, NC)

11/15-11/16: HOUSTON, TX: Texas Region XIII Symphony Orchestra premieres new fanfare, Shouting Defiance, with Verena Mösenbichler-Bryant conducting.

11/19-11/23: VANCOUVER, CA: The University of British Columbia Symphonic Wind Ensemble, conducted by Rob Taylor, performs The Automatic Earth.

11/25: WINSTON-SALEM, NC: West Forsyth HS visit to work with the band and their conductor, Patricia Ball.

12/8: DURHAM, NC: Joseph Alessi and the Durham Medical Orchestra premiere the orchestral version of my Concerto for Trombone, Verena Mösenbichler-Bryant conducting. Baldwin Auditorium.


Lastly, I wrote about an hour of new music for band last year, and finally have recordings posted if you have that kind of time:

The Automatic Earth
Apocalyptic electro-acoustic music dealing with the climate crisis, geoengineering, and human re-engineering

Five-movement symphonic work commissioned by a consortium led by the University of Illinois. Each movement may also standalone or be combined in various ways.

View All