Skip to Content

Select a piece

Browse by Instrumentation:

The Machine Awakes (symphony orchestra + electronics)


The Machine Awakes is the sound of something not human (but of humans hands) – something not entirely organic, but most definitely alive – waking up for the first time. From the opening swirling textures, we sense the first hesitant sparks of thought, attempting to find form and coherence. This new machine – sentient, aware – comes fully awake, possessed of emphatic self-determination and unfathomable purpose.

The electronics for this work are triggered from a computer (Macintosh or Windows) via a self-contained program, freely downloadable from this website, or from an iPhone/iPad/Android device, using the apps available on the Apple App Store ($0.99) and Google Play store ($0.99).

Download on the App Store Get it on Google Play

Genres:   ElectroacousticEnergetic

Share this piece

Purchase or Rent

Score for purchase:

PDF: $20Buy

Parts Only for purchase:

PDF: $75Buy

Electronic accompaniment for use in performance is available here:
Download on the App Store


General Info

Year(s) composed: 2013

Duration: 05:00

Commissioned by: Chicago Youth Symphony Orchestras


15 December 2013, Chicago Youth Symphony Orchestras Debut Orchestra, Terrance Gray, conductor.

Technical Info

View Instrumentation List

Flute 1
Flute 2
Oboe (optional)
Clar 1
Clar 2
Bassoon (optional)

Horn 1
Horn 2
Trumpet 1
Trumpet 2
Trombone 1
Trombone 2

Timpani (optional)
Suspended Cymbal
Bass Drum
Marimba (optional)
Vibraphone (optional)
Tam-tam (optional)


Difficulty: Youth